RSCJ Uganda/Kenya Province


Good day to you and a loving welcome to the website of the Uganda/Kenya Province of the Society of the Sacred Heart of Jesus.

RSCJ Uganda/Kenya congregation The Society of the Sacred Heart is an official Religious Congregation within the Catholic Church. The Religious of the Sacred Heart (RSCJ), Uganda/Kenya Province is part of an international community founded by St. Madeleine Sophie Barat in 1800. Today there are 2200 Religious of the Sacred Heart serving in 41 countries including five countries of Africa: Uganda, Kenya, Tchad, Democratic Republic of Congo and Egypt. In Uganda and Kenya, we are involved in teaching from Primary level to University level, in counselling, pastoral work, development of village women, work in prisons, health care, AIDS education, home-based care of those with AIDS and a home for children with disabilities. In all these apostolates our aim is to relate to persons with the heart of an educator so that they feel loved and gifted and enabled to use their gifts in the service of others. Read more